

Wargrave Lawn Tennis Club Extraordinary General Meeting Results



Results from online voting for two EGM resolutions from 7th January – 21st January 2025

1. EGM Process Overview

The committee called the EGM for members to vote on the two resolutions listed below. The notice for the EGM process was announced to members on December 16, 2024. The two resolutions were sent to members on January 7, 2025, with links to supporting information and details on how to vote via email (plus two members' information meetings on January 9 and 16). During the voting period, four emails were sent out to encourage members to vote.

2. Members Who Voted / EGM Quorum

A total of 128 members cast their votes on both resolutions. This included votes from 124 adult members voted, 58% of the current total adult membership (this is well above the constitutional quorum of 30% of all adult members). For perspective, the level of online voting participation was higher than at our last AGM in December and higher than the EGM voting in 2024. The full list of members who voted is attached, although their voting intentions are not disclosed (this information was checked and verified by our Treasurer).

3. EGM Resolutions and Results

Resolution 1 was approved – 114 in favour (89%) with 14 against

"The Club invests up to £45,000 to resurface courts 3 and 4 with artificial clay from April 2025, with no further impact on the previously agreed fee rises of between 2%-3% for the 2025/26 season."

Resolution 2 approved – 114 in favour (89%) with 14 against.

"The Club invests up to £42,000 to install one temporary padel court on the north end of court 8 from April 2025 (keeping space for the hitting wall on the southern end of the court). The new padel court would be available for members to book at £10 to £20 an hour. As part of the plan, we would increase the maintenance program for hard courts 5,6 and 7 plus look to provide greater access for members to book these courts during the day. The pickleball lines on court 8 would be moved to one of the two public courts. Moving forward with this plan would have no impact on agreed fee rises for 2025/26 season."

Voting Breakdown	Resolution 1 - Artificial Clay	Resolution 2 - Padel on
Total Votes Cast	128	128
Total members in favour of both resolutions.	102	102
Total members in favour of resolution 1 only (against 2)	12	0
Total members in favour of resolution 2 only (against 1)	0	12
Total members against both resolutions	2	2
Total Votes in Favour	114	114
% Votes in Favour	89%	89%

4. EGM Action / Next Steps

With this clear support, the committee will do everything possible to install the new clay courts and the new padel court in time for the start of the new season. But please be patient, the hard work has only just begun!

Michael Simpson Chair Wargrave Tennis Club EGM Results 21st January 2025

Annex A - Names of Members Who Voted

Mem	Aldridge	Adam	Fahy	Sue	Murphy
Alexis	Alexander	Fiona	Fisher	Oliver	Nazzarri
James	Aston	John	Fisher	Pip	Neville
Sophie	Barnwell	Madelaine	Fisher	Adam	Nicholls
Teddy	Batting	Juliet	Flann	Mark	Nockles
Greg	Bello	Nathan	Fovargue	Bjorn	Odenhamma
Chris	Belton	Wendy	Franklin	Gavin	Orpwood
Clare	Belton	Alexei	Gaynanov	Annie	Paddison
Beverley	Birkett	Maggie	Goodall	Graham	Pattie
darren	boulton	Duncan	Greenwood	Denise	Peet
Stuart	Bradburn	Kerry	Griffiths	Richard	Perry
Bertie	Brady	Sue	Gutierrez	Christine	Reid
Siegfried	Brady	James	Harding	Rosie	Roberts
Chris	Brims	Jennifer	Harding	Geordie	Robinson
Dawn	Broomfield	Julia	Herbke	Philip	Ross
James	Broomhall	Elizabeth	Hindley	Richard	Rudman
Ollie	Brown	Katie	Hodgkins	Sheila	Scott
COLIN	BYERS	Richard	Hodgkins	Liz	Sheppard
Jacob	Cameron	Christopher	Holmes	Michael	Simpson
Nicola	Chand	Eleanor	Holmes	joseph	slattery
Carol	Charlett	Jamie	Hosie	David	Smith
Kieran	Charlett	Feyza	Howell	Stephen	Stewart
John	Churchhouse	Julie	Howes	James	Sutherland
Jonathan	Colvin	Hilary	Hunter	Peter	Tarvin
Christine	Cooke	Rachel	Hurlock	Heather	Taylor
Jeremy	Cooke	Megan	Jones	Alex	Templer
Bertie	Coombes	Gary	Jones	Charles	Thompson
Gillian	Coombes	Susan	Jones	Sarah	Thompson
Johnny	Coombes	Raman	Kapoor	Carole	Thompson
Tim	Coombes	Richard	Knight	Michael	Thompson
Carol	Cordrey	Robert	Knight	Liz	Tripp
Fiona	Court	Dan	Lampton	Richard	Vertigan
stuart	crainer	Tom	Lewis	Paula	Watt
Michael	Davies	Sheridan	Lewis	Scott	Webster
Philip	De Ayala	Duncan	Mactear	Gary	Westwood
Nigel	Dibbo	Kieran	Martin-Davis	Dale	Williams
Janice	Dobbin	Robert	McArthur	Thomas	Wilson
Chris	Dodd	Jon	McCarthy	John	Winston
Robert	Dorin	Paul	McDonald	Oliver	Withers
Clive	Dow	Des	McGovern	Nicholas	Wright
Jon	Edgell	Philip	Miller	Tom	Wylie
Richard	Etheridge	Annie	Moore	Tom	Yeates
John	Evans	Jeremy	Morgan		